Do not unmerge python on Gentoo

5 12 2005

Lesson learned: Do not unmerge python on Gentoo. All the portage scripts like emerge etc. are build up on it, so basically you’re screwed when you chose to unmerge it. That’s what I did, because Luma couldn’t be run anymore since some time ago. Even after emerging PyQT, Luma printed out a weird python error that there is an ImportError: No module named qt
And even after masking the python version 2.4 and emerging 2.3 again, since I recalled that Luma stopped working after I upgraded Python to the next minor version, it still didn’t want to work like before. So I tried unmerging python to emerge only 2.3 afterwards, which was just the wrong thing to do… 😛

Fixing this was a two part maneuver. There are some Gentoo developers that provide binary packages for just this case, like http://dev.gentoo.org/~avenj/bins/ for glibc and python (read the README!) or http://dev.gentoo.org/~carpaski/ if you are looking for a portage rescue system. It doesn’t hurt to look into /usr/portage/sys-apps/portage/files/README.RESCUE in that case, too.

So I unpacked the stuff and tried emerge again. First, python was mocking about not finding libssl and/or libftp, so I did a locate libssl and found the 0.9.6 versions that it requested in /opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/lib/ instead of the 0.9.7 versions residing in /usr/lib
Then I tried LD_LIBRARY_PATH="/opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/lib/" emerge python which removed the library problems and only left the other one: ImportError: No module named missingos
The weird thing was that missingos.so was inside /usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/ like it should. What I missed was, that /usr/bin/python pointed to /usr/bin/python2.2 instead of /usr/bin/python2.4 – so I deleted the symlink and set it to the 2.4 version accordingly, after which I could emerge python again. Whew! 🙂

Actions

Information

One response

29 12 2005
I managed to break my box again! « C r a c k . a . s m i l e

[…] I managed to break my box again! 29 12 2005 In case you didn’t know yet: removing an old gcc version from the running system is almost as bad as unmerging python. […]

Leave a Reply

