I managed to break my box again!

29 12 2005

In case you didn’t know yet: removing an old gcc version from the running system is almost as bad as unmerging python. 8)

I played around with emerge -pP world and manually pruned all things I no longer deemed important anymore. I saw that I still had gcc-3.3.6 flying around, although I already had gcc-3.4.4 ready, so I decided to remove the old one after I already cleaning a couple of other software packages before. But after emerge -P gcc the system went bonkers, since I just removed the gcc version that was currently in use by the system: Now I got error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory all the time and emerge was broken again.

Since I am already used to stuff like that I started with a find / -name libstdc++*
Luckily, the vmware software still had copies of those libraries around. Then I googled a bit and found the Gentoo Linux GCC Upgrade Guide aswell as Gentoo forum discussions regarding GCC 3.4.3 and GCC 3.4.4. At first I considered following the advice there to complete the GCC update that I wrongfully initiated, but then it dawned on me that all I needed was LD_LIBRARY_PATH="/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libstdc++.so.5/" emerge -k libstdc++ to get the libstdc++.so.5 back. After only a couple of minutes for compiling (compared to downloading ~25MB of data, I expected hours) I had my system back, running fine like before. Phew! 🙂

I should really upgrade the GCC compiler later on – 3.4.4 even has optimization for my Pentium-M! – but I’ll do my homework first and RTFM a bit more.

Actions

Information

One response

29 12 2005
mooshikam

Apparently some more handwork was required: I got
libtool: link: cannot find the library `/usr/lib/gcc-lib/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.6/libstdc++.la' while emerging some other stuff, fix_libtool_files.sh 3.3.6 was able to fix that.

Leave a Reply

