Reinstalling Gentoo

26 08 2007

My beloved Thinkpad R51 broke down and forced me to get a replacement. Since I didn’t want to invest too much time to get a working system back at that time, since I had work to do, I ordered the same model again via eBay. After completing said work and a vacation, I wanted to try and reinstall my Gentoo system from scratch, since I now had a second hard disc for this anyway. This was mainly to see if I really can set up the system on my own (the first time I received guidance), and if it had gotten any easier since I first installed it.

I was really astonished: It has gotten way easier. I don’t know if that is purely because I got more sophisticated with the system after over 2 years of using it, but I think that the Gentoo folks really made things better, too. I still remember emerge dying regularly when there are updates, configurations being reset, depencies breaking. That didn’t happen anymore at all the last six to twelve months at least. So, trying to cash in on the “Gentoo as new user” experience, I decided to give the textmode installer from the Gentoo 2007.0 Live-CD a try (graphics console didn’t work for me for whatever reason). It barfed halfway through when I had a look what I could do when it asked to configure the network settings for the second time. When I cancelled out of that I was back at the bash. Not willing to go through the long initial setup process again, I tried to hack the installer script a little, but finally I gave in and continued the installation with the official Installation Manual. Trying out what it is like for a completely new user to use Gentoo again, I decided to use the genkernel instead of selecting what gets into my kernel by hand. This way, it builds every module available and loads those that it can use via initrd when booting.

I was really surprised. Given that you must have patience for emerging everything the first time and thus need at least one day to have everything set up, getting a running system was quite easy. I didn’t have to hack around like I was used to and like I was expecting. And with the new modular system of KDE and friends, I really had the easiest way to handpick what I wanted inside my system and what not – thanks to kdebase-meta. Fine-tuning the system took another one or two days, but surprised me again because things just tended to “work like intended” on the first try: hardware rendering, wifi, framebuffer and bootsplash, suspend and resume. The installation somehow messed up my world file, didn’t append newlines to the entries when installing or something, so that it wanted to remove gentoo-sources and some other important system tools when running depclean for the first time, but fortunately I cancelled the process before it went through. đŸ™‚ I’m running depclean regularly now because I really know what is inside, what should stay and what can go – I’m really proud of my little system now. đŸ™‚

Here is my initial world file, for those that are interested:
app-admin/sudo
app-admin/syslog-ng
app-arch/rar
app-editors/vim
app-misc/screen
app-portage/eix
app-portage/genlop
app-portage/gentoolkit
app-portage/mirrorselect
app-portage/ufed
app-text/acroread
kde-base/ark
kde-base/kcalc
kde-base/kde-i18n
kde-base/kdebase-meta
kde-base/kdegraphics-kfile-plugins
kde-base/kdemultimedia-kfile-plugins
kde-base/kgamma
kde-base/klaptopdaemon
kde-base/konq-plugins
kde-misc/kdmtheme
kde-misc/ksplash-engine-moodin
mail-client/mozilla-thunderbird
media-gfx/exif
media-gfx/gimp
media-gfx/gwenview
media-gfx/splash-themes-gentoo
media-gfx/splashutils
media-sound/alsa-utils
media-video/kaffeine
net-im/skype
net-irc/xchat
net-misc/dhcpcd
net-misc/midentd
net-misc/openntpd
net-wireless/ipw2100-firmware
net-wireless/wlassistant
net-wireless/wpa_supplicant
net-www/netscape-flash
sys-apps/netplug
sys-apps/pciutils
sys-boot/grub
sys-kernel/genkernel
sys-kernel/gentoo-sources
sys-power/hibernate-script
sys-power/kpowersave
sys-process/lsof
sys-process/vixie-cron
www-client/mozilla-firefox
x11-apps/mesa-progs
x11-apps/xkill
x11-apps/xrandr
x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

