My customized boot splash

30 08 2007

Having switched to genkernel, for better or for worse, I wanted to use gensplash to have a boot splash and some framebuffer background graphic. Looking at KDE-Look.org, I settled for Gentoo-Blue, but I didn’t like the console background graphic, so I created my own from the Go Gentoo Go Bootsplash. This is the result:
Framebuffer console background

To get the same framebuffer background:

  • Download the Gentoo-blue fbsplash
  • Unpack it to /etc/splash/
  • Overwrite some of the files with my changed ones (1024×768 only, I’m afraid)
  • Install the theme via gensplash: genkernel --gensplash=gentoo-blue initrd in /usr/src/linux
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

