Ubuntu 9.10 on a HP Compaq Presario CQ71 Notebook PC

4 12 2009

This is the second time that my IBM Thinkpad R51 died on me, and since I love it dearly but the hardware is outdated by now, I bought a Hewlett-Packard Compaq Presario CQ71 Notebook PC. Since the 9.10 version of Ubuntu, dubbed “Karmic Koala”, was released recently, I decided to try it out. It’s really nice – things like the integrated webcam work out of the box on my notebook, e.g. through Cheese. What didn’t work too well, though, was audio.

Apparently that’s a problem with the snd-hda-intel module. The built-in card identifies as follows:
# cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#* | grep Codec
Codec: IDT 92HD75B2X5
Codec: Intel G45 DEVCTG

There are numerous tips out there how to fix this problem that ALSA has with the snd-hda-intel model, most of them involve editing your /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf in a desperate attempt to find the right combination of options to get it working. I suggest before you try experimenting, you try what I did: install linux-backports-modules-alsa-karmic-generic via apt-get install linux-backports-modules-alsa-karmic-generic For me, this made my audio start working out of the box again without any more changes.

Actions

Information

One response

14 03 2010
Claude Ganty

Quite a good tip. It also worked for me. I have a HP ProBook 4310s.

Leave a Reply

